COUNCIL MEETING Friday 17 May 2024

Present:- Councillor Robert Taylor (in the Chair); Councillors Cowen, Ahmed, Alam, Allen, Bacon, Baggaley, Baker-Rogers, Baum-Dixon, Beck, Bennett-Sylvester, Beresford, Blackham, Bower, Brent, C. Carter, Castledine-Dack, Clarke, T. Collingham, Z. Collingham, Currie, Cusworth, Duncan, Elliott, Fisher, Foster, Garnett, Haleem, Hall, N Harper, Havard, Hughes, Hussain, Jackson, Jones, Keenan, Knight, Marshall, Mault, McKiernan, Monk, Pitchley, Rashid, Read, Reynolds, Ryalls, Sheppard, Stables, Steele, Sutton, Tarmey, Tinsley, Williams and Yasseen.

The webcast of the Council Meeting can be viewed at:https://rotherham.public-i.tv/core/portal/home

1. ELECTION OF CHAIR

Two nominations for the role of Chair had been received.

It was moved by Councillor Steele and seconded by Councillor Jackson:

That Councillor Cowen be elected Chair of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing (2024/25) Municipal Year and that she/he be entitled to the style of Mayor by virtue of Section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

It was then moved by Councillor Baum-Dixon and seconded by Councillor Z Collingham:

That Councillor T Collingham be elected Chair of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing (2024/25) Municipal Year and that he be entitled to the style of Mayor by virtue of Section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

The second motion, that Councillor T Collingham be elected Chair, was debated first and on being put to a vote, the motion was lost.

The original motion, that Councillor Cowen be elected Chair, was then debated and on being put to a vote was carried unanimously.

Resolved:

That Councillor Sheila Cowen be elected Chairman of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing (2024/25) Municipal Year and that she be entitled to the style of Mayor by virtue of Section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Mover: Councillor Steele

Seconder: Councillor Jackson

Councillor Cowen thereupon made and subscribed the statutory declaration of acceptance of office. (Councillor Cowen assumed the Chair)

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR (COUNCILLOR ROBERT TAYLOR)

Resolved:

That the Council tender its sincere thanks to Councillor Robert Taylor for the excellent manner in which he has carried out all his duties as Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Rotherham. And that the best thanks of this Council be recorded for the kind and admirable way in which Mrs Tracy Taylor performed the duties of Mayoress.

Mover: Councillor Pitchley Seconder: Councillor Keenan

3. PRESENTATION OF THE PAST MAYOR'S PENDANTS

The Mayor asked the Council to join her in offering her sincere thanks to Councillor Robert Taylor for the excellent manner in which he had carried out all of his duties as Mayor and formally presented him and the Mayoress with their past Mayor's pendants.

4. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIR

Two nominations for the role of Vice-Chair had been received.

It was moved by Councillor Read and seconded by Councillor Cusworth:

That Councillor Haleem be elected Vice-Chair of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing (2024/25) Municipal Year and that she be entitled to the style of Deputy Mayor by virtue of Section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

It was then moved by Councillor Z Collingham and seconded by Councillor Baum-Dixon:

That Councillor Tinsley be elected Vice-Chair of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing (2024/25) Municipal Year and that he be entitled to the style of Deputy Mayor by virtue of Section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

The second motion, that Councillor Tinsley be elected Vice-Chair, was debated first and on being put to a vote, the motion was lost.

The original motion, that Councillor Haleem be elected Vice-Chair, was then debated and on being put to a vote was carried unanimously.

Resolved:

That Councillor Rukhsana Haleem be elected Vice-Chair of the Rotherham Borough Council for the ensuing (2024/25) Municipal Year and that she be entitled to the style of Deputy Mayor by virtue of Section 245(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Mover: Councillor Read

Seconder: Councillor Cusworth

5. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were received from Councillors Adair, Ball, A Carter, Lelliott and Thorp.

6. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest to report.

7. APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CADETS

The Mayor formally announced the names of the Mayor's Cadets for the Municipal Year 2024/25 to the Council:

Representing the Royal Air Force Air Cadets was:

• Corporal Alfie Vernon.

Representing the Army Cadets was:

• Lance Corporal Rose-Ann Molloy-Parton.

Representing the Sea Cadets was:

• Able Cadet Poppy Coleman.

The Mayor invited Cadet Vernon, Cadet Molloy-Parton and Cadet Riley Coleman on behalf of Cadet Poppy Coleman (who unfortunately could not attend due to exams) forward to receive their Mayor's Cadet badges and certificates.

8. URGENT ITEMS

There were no urgent items to consider.